Weekly Update

0

Posted by free2008 | Posted in Uncategorized | Posted on October 24, 2022

Important Dates:

October 25 – Picture Retakes day

October 26 – Fall Colour Day

October 28 – Knight Day

November 4 – Bowling field trip, Knight Day

November 10 – Remembrance Day ceremony 10:30 a.m.

November 11 – Remembrance Day (no school)

November 15, 16, 17 – Scholastic Book Fair

November 16 – Parent Teacher Interviews

November 18 – Bowling field trip, Knight Day

November 23 – Jersey Day

November 25 – Pro D Day (no school)

Phonograms:  These are the phonograms we will be learning this week:  p.5 of booklet—ay (as in pay), ai (as in paid), ea (as in eat, head, break)  Please practise and review these and all previous multi-letter phonogram sounds (sh, th, oo, ee, er, oy, oi, ch, ow, ou)

Spelling Words:  I will introduce the words on Monday, Oct. 24 and testing will be Friday, Oct. 28.  Here are the words your child should learn to printI, it, is, in, no  (Also check out your child’s Spelling Test from Friday.)

Reading (Sight) Words:  These are the words your child should be able to recognize and read be able to on sight:  a, I, and, the, see, is, it, in

Bible Verse:  We finish with vs. 4 of Psalm 23  and add it to vs.1-3 that your child has already learned:  “The Lord is my Shepherd I shall not be in want.  He makes me lie down in green pastures, He leads me beside quiet waters.  He restores my soul.  He guides me in paths of righteousness for His name’s sake.  Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me,  your rod and your staff they comfort me.”  I will practise everyday in class, your home practise would be most helpful.

Home Reading:  I was so pleased to hear 4 students read to me their home reading book.  Hopefully this coming week more students will be ready (after 3 home readings) to read to me.  Learning Assistance students should be practising everyday from their reading ziploc baggie!  Thank you so much for all your home support!

Field Trip:  Due to the smoke situation, our field trip took a different look.  We rode the bus to Walmart and picked a pumpkin, followed by some hot chocolate and a Timbit at Tim Hortons.  We finished up with a movie and popcorn.  The children enjoyed the bus ride and were happy to take home a pumpkin.  Thank you to the parents who came along and helped make the outing possible.  See pictures below.

Buddy Time:  This past Tuesday we spent some time with our Gr. 5 buddies and made a pumpkin craft together.  Here is the bulletin board display of our “pumpkin patch”. See pictures below.

Bowling Field Trip for November:  The dates will be Nov. 4 and Nov. 18.  Permission slips will be sent home on Monday. (afternoon bowling from 1:30-2:30 pm)

 

 

 

 

Comments are closed.

Skip to toolbar